Useful resources: Etsy and such part 2

November 28, 2008 at 18:32 1 comment

OK, I give up. They just keep on coming. The more I look, the more I find. Yes, I am talking about the websites that provide a place for indie crafters and artisans to sell their creations and give the rest of the world an opportunity to buy handmade. I have already talked about Etsy, DaWanda and ArtFire. Today I am going to mention some more I found recently. I am sure I will find more websites like this sooner or later, but I am probably not going to dedicate any posts to them anymore.

Lov.li “is a community of people who love art, crafts and handmade products”. They do not charge for listing, just take 3.5% of every transaction. It does not mention “beta” anywhere on the website, but I do believe this is a beta version. The website is very slow and fails to do some simple things, like send a confirmation e-mail. I did not manage to set up a store there, because the confirmation e-mail never arrived (I typed my e-mail address correctly, I checked!). Well, maybe I just have bad luck.

Lov.li

Lov.li

Folksy (beta!) is Etsy for UK only. They promise they “will be offering Folksy in other countries after the initial beta is complete” and wisely do not mention any dates. “Cut, mould, sketch, solder, sew, carve, buy, sell, go!” is their motto. It costs 20p to list an item on Folksy and they charge 5% commission on all sales. Costly business. It’s not too crowded there, but then again – UK only.

Folksy

Folksy

And the there is Made it Myself. Another beta. Their motto is “Think it. Make it. Sell it.” Listing fees per item: 30 days = $0.10, 60 days = $0.20, 120 days = $0.25. Commission fee is 3%. But: “All fees will be waived until further notice”. So for now it’s absolutely free! They do seem a little confused about their own name: “Thank you for your interest in contacting us at makeitmyself.com” (from the Contact Us page). There are 137 artisans currently on Made it Myself.

Made it Myself

Made it Myself

Entry filed under: Useful resources. Tags: , , , .

Flower Power Challenge for Stringing magazine How to sell specialty beads part 5: Organise specialty beads classes

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


WELCOME at PHOTOBEADS

Photobeads

Free Photobeads Patterns

Get 31 free patterns using Photobeads on website HoeMaaktUHet. The patterns have an English description. They form a smal department on this website with techniques, examples, patterns, tools and materials, all in the Dutch language.
Interested ? Click HERE.

