Specialty beads: junck!

March 7, 2009 at 14:57 2 comments

Talking about special or unusual – Tammy from junck makes beads (or rather jewellery components) from used… credit cards! She.. wait, let her tell her story herself:

“I started creating jewelry with credit cards, gift cards and hotel room keys about two years ago… I had a gift card with a friends favourite cartoon character on it and I made it into a keychain for her and I’ve been having fun upcycling ever since!

Winter Love earrings by junck

Winter Love earrings by junck

I start by cutting the cards into the size/shape I would like. I then use a sanding machine to round the edges of the cards. Sometimes I skip this step (e.g. my rings are made with pieces that are not sanded).

Cake Necklace by junck

Cake Necklace by junck

I then drill holes so that I can attach other beads, jump rings etc. I use these finished “credit card beads” to make earrings, rings, necklaces, bracelets, headbands and cellphone charms.

Bracelet by junck

Bracelet by junck

Recently, I started heating the card pieces. This allows me to twist and bend them into interesting shapes which I then string together to form a necklace, bracelet etc. I’m working on a piece right now that I hope to put in my Etsy shop very soon!!”

Entry filed under: Specialty beads. Tags: , , , , .

Bead trends from Paris How to sell specialty beads part 7: Colour combinations

2 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


WELCOME at PHOTOBEADS

Photobeads

Free Photobeads Patterns

Get 31 free patterns using Photobeads on website HoeMaaktUHet. The patterns have an English description. They form a smal department on this website with techniques, examples, patterns, tools and materials, all in the Dutch language.
Interested ? Click HERE.

